I can now say that I have attended a graduation ceremony. My cousin Ashley graduated from High School yesterday. It was interesting simply for the fact that it was something new. A couple of students gave speeches. My least favorite was given by a young man who had been homeschooled up to the 8th grade. The boy has been throughly converted to a liberal. Literally, within his speech he listed off Leftist-cliches! I think my favorite speaker was the one I couldn't hear or understand very well. A black kid who stated that some of the things he learned from his mother (these are funny); such as: Circle of Life--'I brought you into this world, and I can take you out!'; Foresight--'Always wear clean underwear; you never know when you'll be in an accident.' There were several others...but I can't remember them.

Probably the best part was the ROTC color guard (yup...the uniforms) and the singing of The Star Spangled Banner. Ashley was part of the group that sang. I would have perferred if they hadn't did some strange 'wiggling' with the high notes. I just don't like it when people mess with songs--particular that one.  

Savannah likened the crowd going in to the building to that in an airport. On the way out it was just a solid crush. Complete strangers pressed into one another. Once we got back to the car I decided to check my back pocket and make sure my wallet was still there. It was, thankfully. I never did spot Aunt C. or Uncle L. I sort of shouted at Ashley on the way out. She saw us and waved and said something like, "I'll have to see you later!", since she was being carried along with the flow. She is so skinny; she doesn't weigh enough to stand her ground in a press. We didn't spot her again, so we went ahead and left.

Okay...I've got to scram.

        Racheal

6/11/2012 12:06:05 am

Congratulations to Ashley. Is she moving when she graduates? My cousins are some of the dearest friends to me. Unfortunately they don't live near here.

Reply
Racheal
6/12/2012 02:27:20 am

Yes...she is going to North Carolina to live with her Dad. We will miss her even though as it is we don't see her much.

Reply



Leave a Reply.