Well, actually this is Part 2, since I started on the coops two weeks ago. Anyway, with Katherine's help, the frame of the first one is finished. Problem is...it didn't work like it was supposed to!

For starters, it was supposed to be shaped something like this:
Picture
My cute as a button assistant...
Picture
You know, I can be rather goofy sometimes...
We had all but one hoop (there were supposed to be 5) together, when they started snapping! 1 inch 40 SD PVC pipe popping is rather startling. This was the result...
Sooo...we brain-stormed...I called Daddy...and this is what we ended up doing: We made a triangle out of the pipe (instead of arches). I drilled holes through the ends, stuck a nail through, and pounded it down. 
Picture
I started by sawing off the one unbroken pipe.
Picture
Then I drilled holes in the top of the pipes...
Picture
(How'd you like those orange ear-plugs? )
Picture
Pounding away...(I had to have another pair of gloves held against the head of the nail to keep from hurting myself.)
Picture
Finished frame!
Picture
It wasn't that hot...I just thought this one was a cool picture! (I was still up the ladder when Katherine took it.)
Well, there you have it...we still have to finish...but that'll come in Part 2.


1/26/2013 01:53:06 am

Yeah...that was fun :) Except for when that pipe broke and slaped the side of my neck...
How do you like those trendy shreded jeans Racheal is wearing? :)

Reply
Racheal
1/26/2013 09:00:21 am

Yeah...Mom said, "You could sell those for 50 bucks!" I just snorted. I'm about ready to get rid of them--in the trash.

Reply
1/26/2013 05:01:59 pm

Hee hee hee! I didn't even notice your jeans, Racheal. You ought to see the skirt I'm wearing right now. 0.0

You'll have to let me know how these chicken tractors work! We've had a terrible time with chicken tractors. Ours are made of wood, and while the one is portable, it's a lug, and it doesn't hold too many chickens. Maybe a dozen. And we have many times that many poultry! Right now they're free ranging the yard, which isn't that great in the rainy weathers with them seeking for shelter in the back porch :D

Reply
Racheal
1/26/2013 10:20:42 pm

I walked through the briars one day, then the jeans got washed...they've only gotten worse with each consecutive washing. :P

I will let you know how the tractors work. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.