I started the day with a jaunt across the creek to feed the cows. Once I came home, I finished up the rest of my normal morning routine.

After Savannah left with Granddaddy for his chiropractor appointment, I started busying myself in straightening out my ever-increasingly mounding desk and corner area. I'm pleased to say, you can actually see the desk and the floor now. Not only that, the remaining stacks are definitely neater than they were. From there I disappeared into my room to do the same to the foldout desk in there. Somehow, I found myself with the lemon oil in hand dusting the bookshelves. I migrated with that into the living room and did the wooden stuff in there. I hate dusting, so I impressed with myself. ;)

I also got all the ends woven into the latest pair of socks (rebelgraysocketeer), pictures taken and listed. I discovered that the clothes box someone gave me a beautiful jacket in is great for holding a limited number of socks. I started my fourth pair (in blue!) last night.
Picture
These are short--8 inches...so I listed them as boys socks. :D
I rode Snip this afternoon. It took long enough to get the bit in his mouth...but for all that, I had the sense of 'almost a break-through'. (I'm not putting to much stock in it...) What I mean by that is, I got the bit held up against his lips/teeth and he almost nibbled at it. I think that is a good sign. When I went to get the saddle, I collected a pocketful of feed and fed him that. I don't think bribery works too well with my horse, but it's worth a try.

I had the sensation while clamouring on that I was fixing to rip the seat out of my britches (as some of you might recall, I've done that once before!) I didn't, but when I got off and got back on later out in the pasture, I made sure I adjusted my pants better before getting on. (In other words, I pulled the legs up some--my knees always hit too high in pants so to get proper bending out of them I have to jerk them up.)

Anyway, I found a dead cow out back...I identified her by the white mark on her cheek. It was Gorilla cow. Turns out, as I got to thinking about it, she was in the exact same spot where I last saw her when I rode the last time. I was a tad surprised the other day that she didn't get up when I rode by, but just looked at us like we were bothering her. Oh well. Maybe she's been sick and that's why she was somewhat touchy all last summer.

I discovered that the runway is a great place to ride. I can get up to speed without worrying about fences and trees. Snip bucked on me once today...I promptly sat him down and backed him and shouted in his ear. Brat...

I also figured out that I can strap my pistol onto the saddle. It's a whole lot more practical than strapped to me, where it bounces around something crazy and I am always having to readjust it. My poor 'gun-belt' is looking sorrier than ever. I like that belt...but it's rather coming apart now from the extra weight.

While attempting to clean out his hooves this evening, Snip got the grand idea to scratch his head on my backside. I ended up having to whack him on the cheek will the butt end of my knife. He stopped rubbing on me. (It literally throws me off balance when he scrubs his head on me--no matter what my position happens to be; besides that, with all those stickers in his halter, it tends to be uncomfortable!)

So...the long and the short of it is: Snip behaved overall worse today than he has in a while--but better than he could have. I was so dehydrated by the time we got done, I didn't really care. I just wanted to get done so I could go wet my whistle.

I think I'm going to be stiff in the morning.

        Racheal

Mum
1/9/2013 08:18:20 pm

Sorry to hear about one of our favorite old gals.....we will miss her.

Reply
Sandra Sullivan
1/9/2013 11:01:07 pm

Oh no! not Gorilla Cow! She was the most unique cow I have ever seen. Rather endearing. So very sorry. How old was she anyway?

Reply
Racheal
1/21/2013 08:07:27 am

She certainly was a uniquely marked animal...I don't know how old she was, but she wasn't as old as "Blah" is.

Reply
11/18/2015 11:44:00 pm

Thank you very much for posting and sharing this great article. It is so interesting.

Reply



Leave a Reply.