Nehemiah 1:5-11

'And I said: “I pray, Lord God of heaven, O great and awesome God, You who keep Your covenant and mercy with those who love You and observe Your commandments, please let Your ear be attentive and Your eyes open, that You may hear the prayer of Your servant which I pray before You now, day and night, for the children of Israel Your servants, and confess the sins of the children of Israel which we have sinned against You. Both my father’s house and I have sinned.  We have acted very corruptly against You, and have not kept the commandments, the statutes, nor the ordinances which You commanded Your servant Moses. Remember, I pray, the word that You commanded Your servant Moses, saying, ‘If you are unfaithful, I will scatter you among the nations; but if you return to Me, and keep My commandments and do
them, though some of you were cast out to the farthest part of the heavens, yet I will gather them from there, and bring them to the place which I have chosen as a dwelling for My name.’
Now these are Your servants and Your people, whom You have redeemed by Your great power, and by Your strong hand. O Lord, I pray, please let Your ear be attentive to the prayer of Your servant, and to the prayer of Your servants who desire to fear Your name; and let Your servant prosper this day, I pray, and grant him mercy in the sight of this man.”'

While some of our details are different, we as God's children can still cry out to Him in the words of Nehemiah. I found this very apropos when I read it this morning right after I checked the election results and found that Barack Obama had won re-election. (HOW?) 

Strangely enough, I wasn't really surpirsed. Even stranger, I didn't have the sickening fear in my guts that I expected. Maybe because it hasn't really sunk in yet...or maybe simply because God has given me a peace that surpasses understanding. I don't know. What I do know is that God is Sovereign and Obama's re-election is not out of His providence or plan. In that I can take comfort.

Now...what can we (you, my reader, and I, myself) do in the next four years to begin to take back our country? I don't have any answers off the top of my head. I look at this issue and wonder what would be different with me if I were a boy...would I go into politics? If I had my same personality, it might be dangerous. I'd be rougher than Rick Santorum telling the media, "Stop distorting what we are saying." (I saw a clip of that on the news this morning on their 'Campaign Recap' thingy. It was awesome...)

As a girl I wonder sometime about what I can do. I don't believe women ought to take political office and should for the most part keep out of it. I see that for us girls, that maybe the best thing we can do, is to continue to learn, support our fathers, brothers (if you have any), and husbands (if you're married). We can work in our homes to reform culture. We can have little in-home business. Or like me, you can try to get your foot in the door with media of some sort--be it writing books, screenplays, or making films (my aspiration, you know). While we shouldn't be out there on the stump, we can encourage our men-folk to get out there...back them to the n-th degree. (I perfectly understand not every man is called to be a politican.)

I want to put a challenge out there...to myself, but also to my readers (and I really have no idea how many people read this): "What can you do...what are you doing to further the kingdom of God in our country?" Now. Not tomorrow. NOW. World wide mission are great and my family supports several, but I'm talking about our country today. If we don't get our country on the path to reformation (which truthfully, only God can do that), then we (as a country) are doomed. The church universal will never be doomed no matter what it looks like. I know that.

Are we ready? 

I have NO IDEA. I try to live day by day according to the Word; but I fail. I'm a fighter (though not really a debater)...I will not go down with out a fight of some sort. Stand strong. Trust in God. Be optimistic (I'm a born optimsit :P). 

Ready? Or not? 

It doesn't matter. Let's take America back folks! 

My part in the deal? For starters, I think I'll just keep on ranching (taking dominion) and filmmaking. If something else pops up that I can do, I pray I will see the opporunity and run with it.

What are you going to do my friends?
 

        Racheal

P.S. Ever notice how I start with one topic and end up someplce different? Now you know how my brain works...
Mom
11/7/2012 09:47:52 am

Thank-you Racheal for these words of encouragement.

Reply
11/8/2012 02:24:24 am

Agreed!

Reply



Leave a Reply.