Picture
Mr. L during one of the battles.
On the Photo's page you will find a new slideshow....I hope you get an idea of what everything was like. I had so much fun and I think everyone else did too...

I also wanted to add how impressed I was by the carriage and demeanor of the men from both camps. I have never been treated with such dignity and respect. I'd pass a soldier and get either a nod of recognition or even a lifting of the cap. I was spoken to as "ma'am" (something I'm not used to as I'm still something of a 'kid'). On my way back from camp Sunday after the battle, one of the Federal men lifted his cap and said, "I may be wearing blue, but I haven't lost my southern hospitality!" I laughed and dropped him a little curtsy. It was great :) {And believe me, it becomes easier to carry oneself in as a lady when one is treated like a lady--it doesn't change one's personality, but it softens the hard edges--perhaps :D}

Enjoy!

        Racheal

Mom
10/29/2012 07:47:05 am

Thanks for taking the time to share these with us. It looks like a nice group of folks.

Reply
Racheal
10/29/2012 09:45:43 am

They are!

Reply
Missy
10/30/2012 02:36:27 am

I enjoyed this so much! :) You are for sure right about acting like a lady when one is treated like a lady. It really is nice to get polite nods and "yes m'am" and having the door opened...etc.

Miss you lots-n-lots!

Reply



Leave a Reply.