I broke my left clavicle yesterday...yes, I did. Right at the end, see?
Here's how it happened: I was attempting to worm Snip. I had him tied to an old H-frame. Dumb...dumb. I knew better.

Anyway, I got the syringe poked in the corner of his mouth and started to depress the plunger. Snip took to his heels (literally) and backed up with speed. When he hit the end of my pretty red lead-rope, he just kept right on going and busted the cross-bar right on out of there.  Naturally, it went flying. The post bashed into me, knocking me down. However, all that is rather fuzzy--what actually transpired between the moment I started tripping over my own feet in an attempt to make Snip stand still and the time I was on my knees screaming, "Savannah!!" at full blast can only be guessed at. Suffice it say, I came close to panicking, but didn't.

What I do remember is staring down at my hands while bellowing for Savannah. I could move them, but they were numb and tingling, as was my head. What we think happened was that, due to the way I was standing, I got the brunt of the fencepost on the left shoulder. I'm positive is wacked me on the back of the head too, but by that time my shoulder and my beloved hat (which by the way is smashed worse than ever), had slowed it down enough that it didn't give me a concussion or fracture my skull. I do have a spot on the left side if my heads that bled a little. However, I didn't discover that it had bled til about 3 this morning!

I staggered up and started for the house, but decided to take the extra time to close the electric gap...no need for Snippy to meander into the yard afterall.  By the time I stepped in the door and yelled, "Savannah!" again (in a weaker voice), my left shoulder and the back of my head hurt pretty bad. She got ice on me immediately and called Mama and Daddy--who then Skpyed. Granddaddy was worried and he came and sat down across from me--I was sitting on the coffee table. When I mentioned that needed something to drink, he immediately got to his feet and got me some water. I really did appreciate it, especially as I know how unstable he is on his feet.

Anyway, between us all, we made the decision to take me to the doctor. Turns out, I'm glad we did. Or else I'd probably damaged it worse. So....I'm in a sling. I went to the doctor this morning, though I didn't actually see him, and have a follow up in two weeks. They will x-ray me again at that point.

At the ER last night, they took me to the x-ray room in a wheel-chair big enough to almost fit two of me. The technican was nice and we kind of joked about it. I made some goofy remark about getting the 'royal' treatment--I could have walked down those corridors, but granted, it sure was faster in the chair! I also asked him, as we wound around, "Do you ever get lost in here?" He said that he had when he first started, but not any more.

Well...I'll see ya'll later!

        Racheal

Missy
8/31/2012 08:48:10 am

Racheal, Racheal, Racheal...how in the world do you manage to get into such scrapes?? Anne's supposed to be the accident prone one (falling off the ridge pole, dying her hair, putting red dye on her nose...etc...), not Diana! I hope you make a quick recovery.

Lots of love and sympathy,
Missy

Reply
Racheal
9/2/2012 11:25:59 am

Weelll....I reckon it's 'cause I'm busy doin' stuff Diana wouldn't be doin' :D

Really though, I just live life the way it's thrown at me...although, quite honestly, I knew better than to try what I did. (When will I learn? "Racheal!! When you have second thoughts, think about it a little harder!!")

I'm doing fine. No pain really except for when I bump it...or forget and go to shrug...

I'll try to scribble ye a letter soon, darlint ;)

Love,
Racheal

Reply
Missy
9/3/2012 03:03:31 pm

True, true. Diana on a horse?? I just can't see it...

No shrugging! :)

Love you!
Missy

Caitlin
9/2/2012 10:19:31 am

Racheal,

Ouch!! I'll be praying for a quick recovery for you!

As a side note/question, do you know how I can subscribe to emails from your blog (you know, every time you post?) I can't figure it out...

In Christ,
Caitlin

Reply
Racheal
9/2/2012 11:31:34 am

Thank-ee, Caitlin :)

Um...there is an RSS feed...but I'm none too sure how that works. I'll look around a bit harder next time I'm in the editor and see if there is a 'subscribe' button or something.

I need to write you back still...maybe I'll get to it this week since I'm stove up :)

Reply
Caitlin
9/5/2012 07:01:36 am

Hi Racheal, I think I found it! Somehow it got linked to my blog, so now I see your new posts when I log on :-D




Leave a Reply.