Right...so the title really goes with the last portion of this post. I'll get there when I get there :)

Our dear friends from church, Carol and Herb, kindly gave us their pop-up camper! Totally unexpected, but very thoughtful. Anyway, they came to Granddaddy's and from there we led them over to our place. The plan was to back the camper into the bay where the Kuboda sits. I COULD NOT get that tractor started. I cranked and cranked, and tried the trick Daddy showed me, but I still couldn't get the thing started. Next time I need to mow, I think I'll do a diagnostic call with Daddy. Anyway, Herb parked in parallel to the fence instead.

Almost immediately upon arrival I noticed that Snowflake was no longer the shape of a barrel on legs. One problem--no calf. Savannah and I came home and I called Daddy to ask if I ought to go look for the calf. (I was inclined to.) He said yes, "put on your rancher pants"...I did :) I spent two hours walking around and saw neither hide nor hair of the calf. I kept my eyes, ears, and nose on the ready. I saw only one buzzard, but he was just on a recon mission. So, is the calf dead? Very likely. Did Snowflake just hide it very cleverly? Maybe. 

I went to ride my horse after I was done meandering. I decided that because it was so late in the day, I would just tie the lead-rope to Snip's halter and ride him around bareback for a bit. Everything was going okay until I decided to attempt a trot. Even that would have been fine if he had payed attention to me! He slipped through the west gate (I'm pulling on the rope and 'whoa'-ing him--to no avail) and did a neat turn to the right--straight toward those oaks with all the low branches. I leaned off to one side and ended up cracking my head into the dirt. I still have  something of a headache. I imagine that my neck is going to be stiff as a board in the morning; it already is stiff. Thank-God for sanding landings and a hard-head!

        Racheal

Sandra K Sullivan
5/30/2012 01:02:12 am

I am so sorry about the calf. I don't know if it would be good to find it or not to find it. My feeling would be it would be good to know where it is and if you can determine what might have happened. Such a disappointment. But we have to always go back to God is Sovereign and He has a plan.... Even regarding animals in the field that connect with us.

Reply
Racheal
5/30/2012 03:01:02 am

Guess what? Aunt C. sent an e-mail this morning saying that they saw a little white calf!! So, apperently, Snowflake just hid it extremely well. I don't know what gender it is, yet.

Reply
Sandra K Sullivan
5/30/2012 09:51:30 am

Waiting to hear what you find out when you get your eyeballs on "it".

Reply
Racheal
5/31/2012 09:24:14 am

I will let you know! I didn't go over there today...




Leave a Reply.