Our SCV camp (along with the associate OCR chapter which Mrs. A just got going), had it's annual 'Family Fellowship' this afternoon starting at three. Just Katherine and I went since Savannah still isn't feeling quite up to being social and Mama just didn't want to go (instead, she painted the bathroom! It looks great!)

We arrived at about three sharp and soon were talking to Mr. Wade, his daughter Rachel (*has to stop and double-check that she spelled that right*), our UPS man's daughter (I cannot recall her name, but it starts with an 'L'), and various other people.  Rachel (and her sister Wanda--who wasn't there) are homeschooled, L and her younger brother Camp are not.

Around 4, with Mr. Leon still flipping hamburgers on the grill, Mr. Wade prayed and folks started digging in to the meal. It twert bad neither... :) I got made fun of by Mr. Wade for not liking mushrooms (didn't bother me--his daughter Rachel doesn't like the either, it turns out!)

After eating, there was a short business meeting--we (the SCV camp/OCR chapter--by extention) are going to be co-sponsoring another cross dedication ceremony up at F.M. (same place as last time). I know I said I would never film anything like that again...but I imagine for some reason I may be asked...and if I am--well, I don't very well see how I cannot NOT do it.

The business meeting concluded, Mr. Leon did a history lesson on how "Honest Abe" really wasn't such a saint. I didn't hear all of it very well because I was on the verge of a meltdown while waiting for an 8-year old boy to remove himself from the bathroom! I really did want to hear what Mr. Leon was saying, but I went to sit on the porch and with the wind blowing and my thoughts on other subjects, I couldn't mind as well as I wanted to.

After the history lesson, everybody stood around and talked some more. I think it was about 6:30 before Katherine and I left in the growing dusk. I had to feed the chickens when I got home. I didn't feed Snip or the cats since it was already dark. I imagine ol' Snipper will be very glad to see breakfast in the morning... :)

        Racheal




Leave a Reply.