Here for your perusal are some pictures of Savannah and I's 1860's ball gowns.  Mine is made from an 1860 pattern--the dress is called the "Saratoga". I really, really like it!
Picture
Savannah in her gray silk gown...
Picture
Savannah has changed her gown a bit--she took the black lace over-skirt off and made herself a black chemise. She also added the lace on the sleeves.
My session cockade (which you will see in the pictures) was just 'sitting' on the dress. It isn't completely finished--I still need a 'CSA' button (planning on purchasing one this weekend at Brooksville). This way I can't be mistook for a Yankee! (Since all my clothes are blue!) 

Katherine made my earrings; they are clip-on's since my ears, though pierced, are terribly sensitive. It's kind of cool to be able to wear earrings! (I never wore clip-on's because they always bothered me--too tight--but Katherine has figured out how to make them comfy.)
Picture
Racheal modeling the "Saratoga" dress.
Picture
Period correct--no make-up! :D
I put these close ups here so you can see the details a bit better...the white undersleeves actually belong to my chemise. 
If you are interested in getting a dress like this for little more than the price of the materials--please visit Liberty Seamstress!

I love my dress! 

            Racheal

Missy
1/19/2013 04:53:29 am

I like both the dresses! Savannah does a wonderful job! You both make beautiful Southern Belles.

Love you!
Missy

Reply
Racheal
1/21/2013 08:05:43 am

Thank-you...thank-you...

*Bows with a goofy grin on her face*

I was quite pleased with the way mine crumpled against me instead of gaping when I bent over in it. I didn't have to worry about exposing myself. :)

Love you too!

Reply



Leave a Reply.